24h Le Mans, Free Practice 2: Toyota double in front of Glickenhaus

24h Le Mans, Free Practice 2: Toyota double in front of Glickenhaus

Spread the love

24h Le Mans, Free Practice 2: Toyota double in front of Glickenhaus

The Toyotas hit the double in Free Practice 2 of the 24h of Le Mans, with the protagonists of the FIA ​​WEC who walked the 13,626km of the Circuit de la Sarthe in the dark.

At the end of the two hours available, for the first time he climbs in front of the Toyota GR010 Hybrid # 8 di Sébastien Buemi/ Kazuki Nakajima / Brendon Hartley, who with a 3’29 “351 beats the # 7 of Kamui Kobayashi/ Mike Conway / José María López, standing out at the absolute level and in the Hypercar Class.

Risk for Conway, who came along in “Mulsanne”, but managed to float on the gravel of the escape route, returning to the pits later.

Third place for the Glickenhaus 007 LMH # 708 by Franck Mailleux / Olivier Pla /Pipo Derani, for the first time in Top3 with the Alpine LMP1 A480-Gibson # 36 driven by André Negrão / Matthieu Vaxivière /Nicolas Lapierre, while the 007 LMH # 709’s Ryan Briscoe/ Romain Dumas / Richard Westbrook completes the overall Top5, albeit 1 “7 from the top.

In LMP2 the excellent state of form of the Oreca 07-Gibson # 38 of the Jota continues (Roberto Gonzalez / António Félix Da Costa /Anthony Davidson), which achieves the 3’32 “390 which also means sixth absolute time.

The second time trial was signed by Esteban Garcia / Loïc Duval /Norman Born with the Oreca # 70 of RealTeam Racing / TDS, excelling also among the Pro / Am, keeping behind the Oreca # 22 of Filipe Albuquerque/ Phil Hanson / Fabio Scherer (United Autosports) and the Aurus 01-Gibson # 26 of G-Drive Racing driven by Franco Colapinto/ Roman Rusinov / Nyck De Vries.

In the overall Top10 there is also the Oreca # 21 of DragonSpeed ​​USA (Henrik Hedman /Ben Hanley/ Juan Pablo Montoya), second in Pro / Am, with the third place going to High Class Racing (# 20 Dennis Andersen /Ricky Taylor/ Marco Sorensen), albeit more backward than LMP2 colleagues.

In the LMGTE Pro Class the reference of 3’49 “018 is set by the color bearers of WeatherTech Racing, with the Porsche 911 RSR-19 # 79 of the trio Cooper MacNeil / Earl Bamber /Laurens Vanthoor which does better than Gimmi Bruni / Richard Lietz’s official # 91 /Frédéric Makowiecki for as much as 0 “9.

Third in the wake of the AF Corse Ferrari 488 # 52 with Daniel Serra / Miguel Molina /Sam Bird, ran into an off-track at “Mulsanne” with the Brazilian with a blown right front tire and damaged bodywork; in this case the scattered debris led to the red flag to allow cleaning of the track.

Neel Jani/ Kévin Estre / Michael Christensen are fourth in the Porsche # 92, followed by the # 72 of Dries Vanthoor / Alvaro Parente /Maxime Martin (HubAuto Racing) and James Calado’s Ferrari # 51 /Alessandro Pier Guidi/ Côme Ledogar (AF Corse).

Tail lights on the two Chevrolet Corvette C8.R, # 63 by Antonio Garcia /Jordan Taylor/ Nicky Catsburg and # 64 by Tommy Milner / Nick Tandy /Alexander Sims.

Also in the LMGTE Am Class there is a Porsche in command, thanks to the 3’51 “452 obtained from the # 88 of Dempsey-Proton Racing (Julien Andlauer/ Dominique Bastien / Lance Arnold), half a second faster than the Ferrari # 388 of Rinaldi Racing (Pierre Ehret / Christian Hook /Jeroen Bleekemolen).

The Porsche # 56 of Team Project 1 (Matteo Cairoli /Riccardo Pera/ Egidio Perfetti) and # 18 of Absolute Racing (Andrew Haryanto / Alessio Picariello / Marco Seefried, and the Ferrari # 55 of Spirit of Race (Dane Cameron /David Perel/ Matt Griffin), as well as NorthWest AMR’s Aston Martin Vantage # 98 (Paul Dalla Lana /Nicki Thiim/ Marcos Gomes).

The session was closed a few minutes early when Robby Foley lost control of Team Project 1’s Porsche # 46 at “Tertre Rouge” crashing into the barriers and staying still on the line.

Also noteworthy is a problem accused by Patrick Kelly on the Oreca # 24 of PR1 Motorsports Mathiasen.

In Bold the names of the drivers who took the fastest lap.