All-star game: the Metropolitan section against the Central section 10-5 in the final

Match des étoiles: la section Métropolitaine bat la section Centrale 10-5 en finale

Photo: Jeff Chiu Associated Press
Sidney Crosby has been named the outstanding player of the event.

The captain of the Pittsburgh Penguins Sidney Crosby collected two goals and three helpers, the goalkeeper of New York Rangers Henrik Lundqvist has made six stops and the Metropolitan section has won the all-star game the NHL for a second time following a victory of 10-5 in the final against the Central section, Saturday.

The Central section had given the tone to the evening, crushing the section of the Pacific 10-4 in the first semi-final, winning his first game since the creation of the formula of the tournament at 3-against-3 in 2016. The Metropolitan section had then defeated the Atlantic chapter 7-4 in the second encounter in the program.

Crosby was named the outstanding player of the event. He had also harvested two goals and an assist in the semi-final and thus finished his work day with four goals and as many helpers in his record. He had missed his turn in the skills competition Friday because of a virus.

Mathew Barzal, the New York Islanders, and Cam Atkinson, the Blue Jackets of Columbus, have successfully doubled, while Sebastian Aho, Hurricanes de la Caroline, Kyle Palmieri, New Jersey Devils, Claude Giroux, Philadelphia Flyers, and Kristopher Letang, of the Penguins, have also hit the target in the final for the Metropolitan section, which had won the tournament in 2017.

Lundqvist was perfect in the first period, and Braden Holtby, Washington Capitals, has assigned five times as compared to 17 throws.

On the side of the Central section, which had lost in the semi-final against the section Pacific during the last three editions of the all-star game, Mikko Rantanen, the Colorado Avalanche, has scored two goals, while Blake Wheeler, Winnipeg Jets, Ryan O’reilly, the Blues of St. Louis, and Gabriel Landeskog, the Avalanche have also moved the ropes.

Devan Dubnyk, the Wild of Minnesota, has allowed five goals on 11 shots, and Pekka Rinne, the Predators of Nashville, was beaten four times on 10 shots.

The Metropolitan section has forged a lead of 5-0 in the first period. The attempted ascent of the Central section, however, has been hampered by the second goal from Crosby in the final, and the first of the Aho.

Atkinson has brought the mark to 8-3 in favor of the Metropolitan section with 4:17 to go.

Barzal has then scored his second of the final pulling in an empty net.

Rantanen and Wheeler gave one last effort for the Central section thanks to two goals in an interval of 20 seconds, but Atkinson has delivered the coup de grace with 52 seconds to play.

Annoyed by an injury to a foot, the captain of the Avalanche’s Nathan MacKinnon had inherited responsibilities of head coach Paul Maurice, the Jets, behind the bench of the Central section. The team counted on a player in less than the other three.

The teams of each section should be composed of 11 players — nine skaters and two goalies. Each match consisted of two periods of 10 minutes.

The players of the winning team of the tournament will share a prize pool of one million US$.

The section Pacific had won the tournament in 2016 and 2018, in addition to losing in the final against the Metropolitan section in 2017.

The Montreal canadiens did not have a representative in San Jose, in addition to Youppi!


Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *