Czech tennis player Marie Bouzková at a tournament in Madrid on April 30, 2023.
Paris – Tennis players Marie Bouzková and Sara Sorribesová became the target of criticism after advancing to the quarterfinals of the doubles at Roland Garros on Sunday. The Czech-Spanish pair made it to the eight best pairs of the tournament after the disqualification of the Japanese-Indonesian pair Miju Katóová, Aldila Sutjiadiová, after Katóová hit the ball collector during the interrupted game with a balloon (at 6:7, 3:1). Bouzková and Sorribes complained about the incident to the umpire, for which they earned negative reactions from the tennis environment.
“It's a strange feeling. Strange because of everything that happened. It wasn't easy for us either. We just wanted to tell the referee to notice a little bit what happened. That the girl really cried for 15 minutes afterwards, so the ball he probably wasn't played, what the opponent said. And that was all. Then we left it up to him,” Bouzková told reporters after the match and admitted that she did not see the situation directly on the court with Sorribesová.
For example, the French tennis player Gilles Simon paused over the negotiations of the Czech-Spanish pair. “Calling for disqualification of the opposing team when you didn't even see the ball… I hope they have trouble sleeping. And as for the verdict itself? The biggest stupidity,” wrote Simon on Twitter.
The singles finalist on US Open 1978 Pam Shriver, in turn, pointed out that Bouzkova had won the Karen Krantzcke Award three years earlier for fair play and exemplary behavior on and off the court. “Will this be the last time she wins this prize under these circumstances?” wrote Shriver on the social network.
Former South African tennis player and radio commentator Rob Koenig also disagreed with the disqualification. “This is by no means a dismissal. The umpire was right at first. It's like she threw the ball to the fielder to catch it. Roger (Federer) used to do that all the time. disqualification,” Koenig said. Belgian tennis player Kirsten Flipkensová wrote that it was not a “correct decision”.
Katóová did not hide her regret on Twitter after the match. “I would like to sincerely apologize to that ball collector, my colleague Aldila, her team, my fans for the unfortunate incident. It was completely unintentional. As a result of my expulsion from Roland Garros, I also lost prize money and points. I appreciate your support,” stated Katóová.
The French tennis player Alizé Cornetová expressed her support under the message. “Crazy decision. I'm very sorry for you, but most of the players (except Maria and Sara of course) support you.” Brazilian tennis player Bruno Soares added: “Heads up Mija. Unfortunate incident, terrible verdict from the referee and even worse from your opponents.”