Gunner Pastrňák leads the Golden Stick poll ahead of Nečas after the 1st round

Gunner Pastrňák leads the Golden Stick poll ahead of Nečas after the 1st round

Kanonýr Pastrňk leads the Zlatá hockey poll ahead of Nečas after the 1st round

Ice hockey player David Pastrňák from the NHL team Boston Bruins, pictured on January 7, 2022.

Prague – Five-time winner David Pastrňák won the first round of voting in the Golden Hockey Stick poll. from Boston in front of other forwards from the NHL Martin Nečas from Carolina and club teammate David Krejčí. Pastrňák received the maximum possible number of 680 points from the voters, Nečas got 572 and Krejčí 454. Last year's winner Ondřej Palát, who strengthened New Jersey's offensive in the summer from Tampa Bay and was out of the game after groin surgery, is 25th with 11 points. place.

Advertisement'; }

The only player active in Europe made it to the top ten. The fourth is Roman Červenka from Rapperswil-Jona, who defended the victory in the productivity of the Swiss league.

They are followed by another striker Tomáš Hertl from San Jose, goalkeeper Vítek Vaněček from New Jersey, defender Filip Hronek, who deserved the nomination for his performances in Detroit and are still waiting to start in their new location in Vancouver after an injury, forwards Pavel Zacha from Boston and Filip Chytil from the New York Rangers and goalkeeper Karel Vejmelka from Arizona.

In the opening round of the traditional poll announced since 1969, the vote 68 coaches, Czech hockey representatives and journalists, while a total of 50 hockey players received at least one vote. All voters ranked Pastrňák first.

The deadline for the second round of voting will be May 30, after the World Cup in Finland. The last third round with the participation of the top ten will take place after the elimination battles for the Stanley Cup in the NHL. If Pastrňák were to confirm his current position, he would break away from Dominik Hašek with his sixth triumph. He would then have only the legendary Jaromír Jágr ahead of him with 12 championships.