In Munich, Duda and Macron, as well as China's leading diplomat, will be at the conference

Duda and Macron or the leading Chinese diplomat will be at the conference in Munich

Illustration photo – From left, German Chancellor Olaf Scholz, Polish President Andrzej Duda and French President Emmanuel Macron at a meeting in Berlin on February 8, 2022.

Berlin – In addition to German Chancellor Olaf Scholz, the Presidents of France and Poland, Emmanuel Macron and Andrzej Duda, NATO Secretary General Jens Stoltenberg and high-ranking Chinese diplomat Wang I will also attend the Munich Security Conference. This was announced by the head of the conference, Christoph Heusgen, at a press conference today. The security conference, at which one of the main topics will be the Russian invasion of Ukraine, is being held in the Bavarian capital this week from Friday to Sunday.

Advertisement'; }

The management of the conference, which is considered one of the leading international security forums, already announced a week ago that the United States will be represented by Vice President Kamala Harris. US President Joe Biden attended the conference in 2021, when it was held digitally due to the covid-19 pandemic. Foreign Minister Jan Lipavský will come to Munich for the Czech Republic, the newly elected President Petr Pavel has also accepted the invitation. Pavel will not be in the role of president at the conference, but he expects informal meetings with the leaders of other countries.

According to Heusgen, representatives of the European Union, the United Nations and South American and African countries will also be represented in Munich.

One of the main topics of the three-day meeting will be the Russian invasion of Ukraine. However, Russian representatives will not come to Munich, because of Moscow's aggressive attitude towards Ukraine, the organizers did not invite them. The exact program of the conference will be published on Thursday.

The security conference will also award its prize named after its founder Ewald von Kleist. This year, according to Heusgen, Finland and Sweden will receive it for their landmark decision to join the North Atlantic Alliance. Both Nordic countries decided to do so in response to the Russian invasion, but two member countries, Turkey and Hungary, have not yet approved their entry into NATO. Last year, NATO chief Jens Stoltenberg received the award, and a year earlier, then German Chancellor Angela Merkel.