Ogier has a record seventh victory in Rally Mexico and leads the WC

Ogier has a record seventh victory in Rally Mexico and leads the WC

Ogier has a record seven wins in the Mexico Rally and leads the World Championship

Illustration photo – French rider Sébastien Ogier.

Guanajuato (Mexico) – Frenchman Sébastien Ogier won the Mexican Rally for the seventh time and set a new competition record. After the third part of the World Championship, he leads the standings, even though he did not ride last time in Sweden. The eight-time world champion, who completes only selected competitions in the colors of Toyota, has a three-point lead over Belgian Thierry Neuville.

Advertisement'; }

Czech driver Martin Prokop finished eleventh in Mexico and took fifth place in the WRC2 category.

Ogier also turned this year's second start in the WC into a victory when he followed up his triumph in Monte Carlo. He took the lead in the Mexican competition at the beginning of the second stage after the withdrawal of Finn Esapekka Lappi, who crashed. On the final day, the 39-year-old Frenchman was primarily guarding the lead. Nevertheless, he still dominated the final power stage and the bonus five points helped him to the top of the series.

He finally beat the second Neuville with a Hyundai by 27.5 seconds. British Elfyn Evans finished third with another Toyota, who fell four tenths of a second behind the Belgian after the final special stage.

Already in Monte Carlo, Ogier took care of the competition record with his ninth victory. In Mexico, he has so far shared the lead with compatriot Sébastien Loeb with six wins.

The reigning world champion and another Toyota driver, Finnish Kalle Rovanperä, finished fourth. He is third in the overall standings by one point behind Neuville. The Estonian Ott Tänak dropped from first to fourth place in the World Championship. After winning the Swedish Rally, this time he had to settle for technical difficulties at the start of the competition with ninth place. h3>

1. Ogier, Landais (Fr./Toyota Yaris) 3:16:09.4, 2. Neuville, Wydaeghe (Belg./Hyundai i20) -27.5, 3. Evans, Martin (Brit./Toyota Yaris) -27, 9, 4. Rovanperä, Halttunen (Fin./Toyota Yaris) -1:55.3, 5. Sordo, Carrera (Sp./Hyundai i20) -2:58.8, 6. Greensmith, Andersson (Britain, Sweden ./Škoda Fabia) -12:31.5, …11. Prokop, Ernst (ČR/Ford Fiesta) -18:56.1.

Provisional ranking (after 3 of 13 races): 1. Ogier 56 p., 2. Neuville 53, 3. Rovanperä 52, 4. Tänak (Est./Ford Puma) 47, 5. Evans 44.

Team ranking : 1. Toyota 127, 2. Hyundai 100, 3. M-Sport/Ford 73.