Tokyo 2020, Cycling: El Diablito returns to the Olympia throne

Tokyo 2020, Cycling: El Diablito returns to the Olympia throne

Spread the love

Tokyo 2020, Cycling: El Diablito returns to the Olympia throne

The Ecuadorian Richard Carapaz is the new Olympic champion from cycling. With a perfect tactic, taking advantage of the continuous marking between the two big favorites, the Slovenian Tadej Pogacar and the Belgian Wout Van Aert, the winner of the Giro d’Italia 2019 it has won a victory that silences those who, after the pink triumph, had doubted its actual thickness. The two super predictions had to settle for sprinting for the remaining places on the podium. Preceding the group of bars arrived at 1’07 “ from the winner, Van Aert has conquered thesilver And Pogacar the bronze.

The first 200 kilometers of the race were marked by the action of five brave: Juraj Sagan (Slovakia), Nic Dlamini (South Africa), Michael Kukrle (Czech Republic), Polychronis Tzortzakis (Greece) And Orluis Aular (Venezuela). The group, totally uninterested in the attack in the first 100 kilometers, let the fugitives gain up to 20 minutes before Belgium And Slovenia decided to sacrifice one element each, respectively Greg Van Avermaet And Jan Tratnik, to mend the race. Exhausted at minus 40 from the arrival, the escape, the beginning of the ascent to Mikuni Pass opened hostilities.

Van Aert lined up the last two men left before him, Tiesj Benoot And Mauri Vansevenant. Under the action of the two Flemings the group exploded, reducing to no more than 20 units. Among blues, the first to break away was Giulio Ciccone And Vincenzo Nibali with Alberto Bettiol, the only one capable of staying with the former.

Halfway up, in the hardest stretch with a gradient of more than 20 percent, he started Tadej Pogacar. The Slovenian, however, was not in version Col de Romme and his action, which was joined by the American Brandon McNulty and the Canadian Michael Woods, did not create a decisive detachment. So, shortly after the brow, the pursuers returned, forming a group of 13 riders in command: Bettiol (Italy), Van Aert (Belgium), Pogacar (Slovenia), Gaudu (France), A. Yates (UK), Mollema (Netherlands), Uran (Colombia), Fuglsang (Denmark), Schachmann (Germany), McNulty (USA), Carapaz (Ecuador), Kwiatkowski (Poland) And Woods (Canada).

The treads faced the long descent to the finish in an uncoordinated way, all on the defensive waiting for a move by one of the two favorites. These, in turn, pulled the oars in the boat, Pogacar tired from the failed attack, Van Aert for the exhausting pursuit. They took advantage of this stalemate Carapaz And McNulty to start after a curve, gaining half a minute in the blink of an eye. The advantage expanded up to 44 ”before Van Aert took matters into his own hands by recovering 20 seconds on a tear 12 kilometers from the finish. Meanwhile, the blue hopes with Bettiol who, a victim of cramps, was forced to raise the white flag.

The last dent at minus five from the finish closed the games. Carapaz, sensing the approach of his pursuers, he left McNulty on the spot and flew towards one historic second Olympic gold medal for his country, after that of Jefferson Perez in the 20 kilometers of walking to Atlanta In the 1996. Behind, resigned, the others prepared to compete for the remaining places on the podium. The ferocious sprint between the defeated duelists expressed the anger of both towards a mockingly missed goal. A ride with an altitude difference of 4,865 meters was decided on downhill.